Fire Protection Board

​Fire Protection Board

The Mercer County Fire Protection District, a KRS Chapter 75 taxing district, was organized in 1986 and is governed by a seven-member Board of Trustees.  The District operates eight​ fire stations strategically located throughout the county to maximize coverage and response times.  When first formed, the District operated county fire stations located in Burgin, Cornishville, Harrodsburg and Salvisa.  Over the years, the District has added fire stations near the communities of Dixville, Terrapin, McAfee and Shaker Village.  At present, we have 145 volunteer firefighters who operate 30 pieces of fire and rescue apparatus.  In addition to providing essential firefighting services, our members also respond to vehicle accidents, medical emergencies, complex and high-angle rescues and hazardous materials spills.  Combined, the annual run volume approaches 700 incident responses per year.  The District also operates the Fire Safety House and is involved in educating students at local schools in fire prevention and safety. 

Contact Us

Central Fire Department
2850 Louisville Rd.
Harrodsburg, KY 40330

For more information, please visit our website Mercer County Fire Protection District.​​​

Fire Chief                          Rick Maxfield            (859) 325-0731

Board Chairman               Steve Bailey              (859) 748-9247

Web Contact                     Glenn Phillips           (859) 619-1820