Planning & Zoning

The Mercer County Joint Planning and Zoning Commission was created on behalf of the citizens for the purpose of assisting in the planned growth of the county. In addition, land use controls were implemented for the purpose of protecting the public health, safety, comfort, and general welfare. 
The Planning & Zoning Commission was created in 1972 by the governing laws of KRS Chapter 100. This body consists of 7 appointed commissioners. Appointments to the Joint Commission are as follows: 4 members are appointed by the Fiscal Court and 3 members are appointed by the Mayor of Harrodsburg. They serve 4 year terms of office and are so appointed on a staggered basis. The current appointed commissioners are shown below
Chairman​ Bobby Upchurch
​Vice Chairman​ Jim McGlone
​​Jonathan Elliott
​Commissioner ​Gil Hayslett
​Commissioner Bonnie Anglin​
​Commissioner Jerry Catlett
​Commissioner Lucas Guinn
Agendas & Minutes
Agendas & Minutes are available to the general public. If you are looking for a specific meeting, you can request a pdf be emailed to you by contacting the Executive Director.
Meeting Schedule
Currently, the commission meets on the 2nd Tuesday of the each month. The meeting time is 5:30pm and the meetings are held in the City Commissioner's meeting room on the second floor of City Hall. The Commission reserves the right to cancel meetings or adjust ​meeting dates as necessary.
​Shawn Moore, CZI, CFM
Executive Director

The Greater Harrodsburg/Mercer County
Planning & Zoning Commission
109 Short St.
Harrodsburg, KY 40330
(859) 734-6066
(859) 734-1763 Fax
M-F 8:00-12:00 1:00-4:00

Planning & Zoning